NLF3 was formed in 2000 in Paris by brothers Nicolas and Fabrice Laureau
(aka Don Nino and F / Lor ), after the split of Prohibition, their former band.
In 2006, the first drummer Ludovic Morillon was replaced by Mitch Pires.
The trio plays instrumental rock, textured with electronics, halfway between movie score and psychedelic transgressions. The trio cites a host of influences in their interviews, from repetitive music to experimental rock, from the Afrobeat of Fela Kuti to the Tropicalia of Tom Zé .

NLF3 released its inaugural double album Part 1 – Part 2 in 2000, and they started performing concerts during the same year. The album is a kind of manifesto that defines NLF3’s sound.  In 2003, they released the album Viva !, which artwork was designed by Gaspirator (member of the electronic duo Justice) and the trio started to tour abroad.

In 2004, they started to perform live with the movie Que viva Mexico! by Sergeï Eisenstein and this gave them an international exposure (Russia, Mexico, Japan, Europe, UK… ). The album Music For Que Viva Mexico! was recorded in studio and was released in 2006. This episode was followed the next year by the creation of two other live soundtracks: onDie Abenteuer Des Prinzen Achmed by Lotte Reiniger and on Ai by Takahiko Iimura.

At spring 2008, they released the EP Echotropic, the sleeve was designed by Japanese artist Yu Matsuoka, and constituted an important return to the spotlight. This release was followed by the albums Ride On A Brand New Time (2009) and Beautifull is The Way To the World Beyond (2010) and finally the EP of unreleased tracks Beast Me, autumn 2011. This last collector EP ended a dense cycle of recording sessions, releases and international tours, that included festivals such as The Great Escape, Osheaga, Villette Sonique or La Route Du Rock.

They were comissioned for a new score on the Expressionist movie Der Golem by Paul Wegener in 2012 by Cité de la musique in Paris. On this occasion the trio invited experimental guitarist Erik Minkkinen from Sister Iodine to join its performances.
In 2013, the trio recorded the album Pink Renaissance that wa released September 2014. The band toured France and the UK in 2014 and 2015.

The new album « Waves of Black and White » was recorded in the Spring of 2016 in the countryside of Normandy/France and will be released in March 2017. It was conceived under the aegis of Aristotle “Nature makes nothing in vain”. Three friends in a wooden room with recording gear, varied instruments and very spontaneous composition is their way of doing since their debut in 2000. Succeeding to their Pink Renaissance LP released in 2014 and returning into a certain minimalism, the trio subtracts some ornamentation and refines its instrumental, spacious and original abstract-rock, recognizable among others. In search of a reconciled harmony with the order of nature, cycles and renewals, water and fire forge some underlying patterns. Between euphoria and melancholy, divagations and lulls, NLF3 explore the time of world’s childhood, through imaginary continents and preserved landscapes. With precision and fluidity, these twelve compositions wind up in their mixture of pulses and melodies in weightlessness, where enter electrified kalimbas, sparkling drones and gongs. As an invitation to travel and wonder, these waves of black and white can touch the soul and encourage us to think about our place.

Booking : Sylvain / AFX Booking :

In the press

FR "The French space-rock-kraut outfit just nails it with every new album. They seem to be from a parallel universe anyway, so hopefully at least there NLF3 will lead the charts for weeks to come." 9/10 LOWNDOWN MUSIC

Lowdown Music